our team

because they make the magic happen

Stacey Haysler

Stacey Haysler - President

Stacey Haysler is the CFO and COO of PostgreSQL Experts, Inc. She first became involved in the Postgres community in 2010, and has worked as an organizer and conference staff for a number of conferences, both in North America and Europe, as well as being part of the start up team for PgDay San Francisco. She founded the Django Events Foundation North America (DEFNA), a nonprofit associated with the Django Software Foundation, and was a principal organizer of DjangoConUS for three years. She also served as Treasurer of the DSF for a year while starting DEFNA. She is a PostgreSQL contributor.

She worked with the Core Team to develop the PostgreSQL Community Code of Conduct in 2017, and is currently the Chair of the Community Code of Conduct Committee.

Stephen Frost

Stephen Frost - Vice President

Stephen Frost is the Chief Technology Officer for Crunchy Data Solutions, Inc as well as a PostgreSQL Committer and Major Contributor. His previous work has included implementing the role system in 8.1 (replacing the previous user/group system), column-level privileges in 8.4 and improvements to PL/pgSQL.

Mark Wong

Mark Wong - Treasurer

Mark Wong is currently employed by EDB and is a PostgreSQL Contributor. His background is in database systems solutions and performance. He first introduced himself to the PostgreSQL community in 2003 with open source benchmarking kits and performance data. Since then, he has continued to contribute to various aspects of the community such as a Google Summer of Code mentor, PGConf.US Organizer, Portland PostgreSQL Users Group Co-Organizer, PostgreSQL Fundraising Group Member, and Treasurer and President of PgUS.

Katherine McMillan

Katherine McMillan - Director

Katie McMillan leads strategic and creative projects that advance the public health, information technology, and social sectors. She is currently completing her Master’s of Science degree, works as the Assistant to the Chief of Staff for a multi-site Canadian hospital, and is an advisor to local, national and international healthcare and public interest initiatives. Katie brings passion and talent for new now know-how and engaging a diverse range of stakeholders to co-create solutions to complex organizational, industry and systems challenges. She leverages a multi-disciplinary background in Health Systems, Geographic Information Systems, Public Policy, and Data Science, and works with communities to design, select, implement, and monitor solutions in order to improve outcomes with emphasis on multi-intervention approaches, interoperability, mixed methods, and Ubuntu. PostgreSQL is Katie’s favourite database management system, and PostGIS is her favourite extension. In addition to increasing awareness about Free and Open Source software, Katie aims to create and share best practices, consolidate effort, and accelerate the selection, adoption and development of Free and Open Source Software.

Jonathan Katz

Jonathan Katz - Director

Jonathan S. Katz is the Vice President of Platform Engineering at Crunchy Data. Jonathan is also a Core Team Member of the PostgreSQL Project, responsible for advocacy, release and governance efforts and is Secretary and a board member for the nonprofit PostgreSQL Community Association of Canada.
Prior to Crunchy Data, Jonathan was CTO at VenueBook, and before that, VP of Technology at Paperless Post. At both companies Jonathan developed robust platforms using PostgreSQL, taking advantage of its many features, from complex data types to its ability to stream logical changes.
Jonathan graduated from Tufts University with a B.S. in Computer Science and a B.A. in Mathematics.

Michael Brewer

Michael Brewer - Secretary

Michael Brewer is a Web Developer Principal in the Franklin College Office of Information Technology at The University of Georgia. Michael's responsibilities include developing applications for intranet and internet use, creating and managing databases, and desktop and network support. One of the applications he developed won a national award for innovation in advising technology. He is one of the founding board members of the United States PostgreSQL Association.